Opposing the Ratification of the Japan-India Nuclear Cooperation Agreement in parliament

Please endorse the following International petition.

Please send your name or the name of your organization and country name to sdaisuke@rice.ocn.ne.jp

The name of the endorsers is listed at the bottom.

18 countries, 116 organizations, 569 individuals, as of March 25


To: The Prime Minister of Japan, Shinzo Abe
To: The Speaker House of Representatives, Tadamori Oshima
To: The President House of Councillors, Date Chuichi

Opposing the Ratification of the Japan-India Nuclear Cooperation Agreement in parliament

On November 11 last year, the Governments of Japan and India signed the Japan-India Nuclear Cooperation Agreement (henceforth referred to as ‘the Agreement’). We are strongly opposed to  it as it violates the firm postwar stance and  efforts made by the Japanese people to promote abolition of nuclear weapons and non-proliferation, as the only country to have suffered nuclear attacks.

On 24 February, the Government of Japan tabled ‘the Agreement’ in parliament. We, citizen groups and individuals from across Japan, have joined people in India and other parts of the world in a campaign to demand that this Agreement not be ratified.

India is not a party to the Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) and it has twice conducted nuclear tests. This Agreement allows India to increase production of both its nuclear power plants and nuclear weapons.  Moreover, India’s neighboring country, Pakistan is also not party to the NPT and also possesses nuclear weapons. It is obvious that this Agreement will aggravate the nuclear arms race in the South Asian region.

This Agreement also allows India to reprocess its spent nuclear fuel to produce plutonium as well as to enrich uranium.  Furthermore, the clause on Japan’s withdrawing of cooperation in the event that India conducts another nuclear test, is ambiguous. Compared to other nuclear cooperation agreements, it is incomplete and hence unacceptable by any measure. The media has reported that even within the Liberal Democratic Party, there is strong opposition to this Agreement.

While the Fukushima Daiichi disaster is still ongoingand Japan is still in a state of nuclear emergency, it is insensitive and irresponsible to export nuclear technology. In all the areas where nuclear power plant construction is planned in India, there are massive grassroots movements strongly opposed to them. The people are shouting ‘Japan, don’t export nuclear accidents!’

Nuclear manufacturers such as Toshiba and Hitachi are in financial trouble and are reviewing their nuclear export policy.  The general and global shift away from nuclear power also seems irreversible.

We strongly urge that the Nuclear Export Bill be withdrawn. Instead, Japan should engage in international cooperation to promote renewable energy.


Campaign Against Ratification of the Japan-India Nuclear Cooperation Agreement

Contacts:  No Nukes Asia Forum Japan

122-5 143-96


Campaign for International Cooperation and Disarmament (CICD)
Friends of the Earth
Independent and Peaceful Australia Network
Marrickville Peace Group
Palestine Liberation Centre
People for Nuclear Disarmament NSW
Gareth W R Smith
Jim Green
John Hallam
Michele Madigan
Philip White
Romina Beitseen


ARGE ja zur Umwelt, nein zur Atomenergie
PLAGE (The Independent Salzburg Platform Against Nuclear Hazards)
Wiener Plattform Atomkraftfrei
Christiane Schmutterer
Heinz Stockinger
Hildegard Breiner
Paula Stegmüller

RISE Bangladesh
Mujibul Alam Khan
Artistes pour la Paix
Bruce Peninsula Environment Group
Just One World
Kizuna Japon
Alice Medcof
Angela Bischoff
Chaitanya Kalevar
Donald Seitz
Judi Richards
Tim Seitz
Ziggy Kleinau

Donna Railton

Women Against Nuclear Power
Ulla Klotzer

Action des Citoyens pour le Desarmement Nucleaire (ACDN)
Reseau Sortir du nucleaire (French network for a nuclear phase-out)
よそものネット フランス
Catherine LIEBER
Harsh Kapoor

Luneburger Aktionsbu ndnis gegen Atom
Anti Atom Plenum Frankfurt
Anti Atom Plenum Koln
BI Luchow-Dannenberg
Cattenom Non Merci
Sayonara Nukes Berlin
Annette Bänsch-Richter-Hansen
Dieter Heinrich
Gunter Hermeyer
Petra Schild-Wagner
Sabine Leyendecker
Ute Schlumpberger
藤江-ヴィンター 公子

Jharkhandi Organization Against Radiation
National Alliance of Anti-nuclear Movements (NAAM)
People’s Movement Against Nuclear Energy (PMANE)
Peoples Union for Civil Liberties
Poovulagin Nanbargal
Amitadyuti Kumar
Anand Patwardhan
Antony Arulraj
Atul Anand
Bela Bhatia
Gabriele Dietrich
Kumar Sundaram
Pon Chandran
Rohini Hensman
Suhas Kolhekar
Sujay Basu
Sukla Sen
Sundar Rajan
Vahida Nainar
VaishalI Patil
Veena Poonacha

No Nukes News(脱核新聞)

Nuclear-Free Bataan Movement-Philippines

Supara Janchitfah

Gloria Kuang-Jung HSU

Pinar Demircan

Japanese Against Nuclear

Boston Downwinders
Manhattan Project for a Nuclear Free World
Nuclear Watch South
Veterans For Peace – NYC Chapter
Ayumi Temlock
Mohammad Imran
Paula Sharaga
Rachel Clark
Roberta Hill

*日印原子力協定国会承認反対キャンペーン:グリーン・アクション、グループ:南アジアの原発と核兵器、原発いらない福島の女たち、原発メーカー訴訟原告団、原子力資料情報室(CNIC)、原水禁(Gensuikin)、コアネット(戦略 ODA と原発輸出に反 対する市民アクション)、国際環境NGO FoE Japan、さよなら原発神戸アクション、「しないさせない!戦争協力」関西ネットワーク、首都圏反原発連合、たんぽぽ舎、ピースデポ、 PEACE BOAT、ふくしま地球市民発伝所、とめよう原発!関西ネットワーク、日本山妙法寺、武器輸出反対ネットワーク(NAJAT)、平和と民主主義をめざす全国交歓会、平和をつくり出す宗教者ネット、No Nukes Asia Forum Japan、緑のハーモニー調布、美浜・大飯・高浜原発に反対する大阪の会
賛同:I女性会議 アジア共同行動日本連絡会議 ATTAC関西グループ ATTAC Japan国際ネットワーク委員会 伊方原発50km圏内住民有志の会 伊方原発広島裁判原告団 APFS労働組合 太田川ダム研究会 おかとん原発いらん宣言2011 お肉はほんの少しだけ 風下の会福島 鎌倉・岐れ路の会 上関原発止めよう!広島ネットワーク 金曜国会前キャンドルエリア Beautiful Energy 9条の会おおすみ グローバリゼーションを問う広島ネットワーク 研究所テオリア 原発がこわい女たちの会 原発とめよう飯能 原発の危険性を考える宝塚の会 原発反対八王子行動(金八デモ) 原発を考える品川の女たち 航思社 子どもの未来を楽しくする会・飯能 さようなら柏崎刈羽原発プロジェクト さよなら玄海原発の会・久留米 さよなら原発!三鷹アクション 商社九条の会・東京世話人会 全港湾西成労働センター分会 全石油昭和シェル労働組合 占領に反対する芸術家たち/Artists Against Occupation 即応寺 脱原発・滋賀☆アクション 脱原発の日実行委員会 脱原発の日実行委員会福島 脱原発へ!関電株主行動の会 チェルノブイリ・ヒバクシャ救援関西 手わたしプレス 東北アジア情報センター(広島) 名前のない新聞 日本キリスト教協議会「平和・核問題委員会」 日本消費者連盟 ハカルワカル広場(八王子市民放射能測定室)  浜岡原発・広域避難を考える静岡県東部実行委員会 反戦・反核・脱原発・平和運動を進める大隅市民の会 反原労(反原発行動実行委員会) ピースアクト出水 ピースネット静岡 広島瀬戸内新聞 ふぇみん婦人民主クラブ 平和・人権・環境を考える岐阜県市民の声 ベクレルフリー北海道 マインドライフメンタルケアルーム 緑の党グリーンズジャパン アーサー・ビナード 相沢一正 秋本陽子 浅田明 安武よしこ 阿部太郎 安部竜一郎 荒木淳子 飯塚淳平 池浦美保子 石井じゅん 石川哲朗 石橋喜美子 石堂太郎 磯益子 市川勝弘 伊藤正子 稲葉純子 井上裕子 揖斐俊雄 岩川保久 植谷岳郎 宇田純子 宇野田陽子 江口はるみ 大束愛子 大橋敬子 大橋真司 大橋悠也 大橋龍太郎 大村智 岡井友穂 岡田快 岡田純 岡田俊子 おかだだい 岡田良子 岡村輝彦 岡本珠代 岡本尚 小木曽茂子 奥田さが子 奥田旬子 小野寺秀也 片岡栄子 勝部明 河崎盛夫 梶川ゆう 片岡栄子 加附信也 桂牧 兼崎暉 河合弘之 河瀬洋子 川野安紀子 菊地公子 北野幸雄 喜多幡千代 木村幸雄 熊本真貴子 倉知博 黒川瑛子 小園小夜子 小園徹 後藤玲子 小林晶子 小林純子 小林伸子 近藤ゆり子 斎藤和子 斉藤恵 西塔文子 崎山比早子 佐谷圭 佐谷健児 佐谷峰世 佐藤和夫 佐藤茂雄 さとうしゅういち 佐藤大介 佐藤宏 佐藤八重子 佐藤吉幸 ジーン・イングリス 茂田初江 柴岡泰光 柴岡とみ子 城山大賢 新谷舞子 鈴木隆史 鈴木雅子 須田稔 舘脇章宏 高松大志  滝沢厚子 田中徹 田中むつみ 谷合裕子 田場祥子 田場洋和 田平正子 玉岡明代 玉造順一 丹原美穂 辻俊子 土橋涼子 常住良保 坪川宏子 哲野イサク 遠野ミドリ 戸張あかり 冨田修司 富山裕美 内藤新吾 永池友輝 永池直孝 永池美保 中嶋秀昭 長嶺歩 二階堂啓志 野村修身 橋本あき   橋本希和 橋本建八郎 長谷川公一 長谷川順子 畑章夫 早瀬あかね 早瀬成憲 樋口みな子 樋口曜 平山良平 深田和秀 福島隆 福島直子 福間典一 藤井善隆 藤家雪朗 北條和明 穂坂光彦 星川まり 前川幸美 前田康雄 マシオン恵美香 増田千代子 増田博光 増田裕 松井雅子 松尾和子 松尾哲郎 松崎大地 松下徳二 丸山英秋 三上元 水野浩重 皆川純麿 南繁 南野正人 美濃部薫 茂住衛 矢ヶ崎克馬 八鍬瑞子 山岸康男 山下光洋 山下靖子 油井麻友子 柚木康子 横地明宏 横原由紀夫 吉田収 竜頭万里子 渡田正弘 and others





メールアドレスが公開されることはありません。 * が付いている欄は必須項目です